One Thing Is Needed…

27Oct10

…the good part which will not be taken away.

The semester is flying by and there is a lot to do.  But the kindness of the Lord keeps drawing me back to this understanding – only one thing in life is needed. “This is my success, to love You and be loved by You.” All the law and the prophets – the entirety of Scripture Jesus said is summed up in one revelation – love. Christianity is simply this: love God with all one’s heart soul mind and strength and then let Him release that love through one’s self to others. That’s it. Not where we go. Not what we do.

There has been so many amazing things happening on the campus. So many hearts are getting encountered with the love of Jesus. Fresh revelation is striking hearts and drawing many into deeper relationship with the Son of God. But why…What is God’s desire? That we would serve Him? That we would reach the nations for Him? No, His desire is simply – LOVE ME. ALL I WANT IS LOVE. ALL I WANT IS YOU. Oh God, let the simplicity of my heart connect to this reality. It isn’t what I can DO for God, but what I can BE in God.

Luke 10:38-42 “Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.” 41 And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. 42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”

As I have previously written, every Monday from noon-3 I help with the student run prayer room at Illinois Central College along with a student worship set Sunday evenings from 8:30-10 at the Chi Alpha House. There are 2 prayer sets at ICC with 1 set each week focused on taking a passage of Scripture and developing it through praying and responsive singing from the worship team. The passage chosen for the semester is Psalm 27. Each week the team of students I have been worshiping with has been singing through vs. 4 and 8.

One thing I have desired of the LORD, that will I seek:  that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to inquire in His temple…When You said, ‘Seek My face,’ my heart said to You, ‘Your face, LORD, I will seek.'”

It has been such a blessing to meditate and sing back to the Lord these key verses written by King David. Ali, a ICC student who has been chorus leading for the team, sang a powerful chorus a few weeks ago. “You have formed these eyes to see Your beauty, You have formed these lips to sing Your praise, let me behold You!” God has been meeting us and realigning us with the truth that He simply wants our weak but real love. That’s it! This is key to happy christian living – being one of God’s, not working for Him.

Love you all,

David

 

Key Prayer Needs:

Dr. Gunnar Dieckmann – “Evidence of a Creator: How Science Reveals God” – Wed. Oct. 27th – Pray for the truth of God’s word to bring revelation

Harvest Party! – Sat. Oct. 30th – Pray for anointed fellowship and fun

XA Prayer Room – Every Sunday – 5:30pm -10pm – Pray that God would release His presence to heal and change lives

ICC Prayer Room – Every Monday – Noon – 3 -Pray that God would breakthrough on the campus

ICC Bible Study – Every Wednesday – Noon-2 – “And you shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free.”

Discipleship – Every Friday – I meet with Dave, Greg and Chase. Pray for God to bring true and lasting fruit in our lives (Jn. 15)

 

One Response to “One Thing Is Needed…”

  1. 🙂 keep battlin’ and lovin’


Leave a Reply

